Archive for the Psychedelic/Space Rock Category

Alpes & Catherine Ribeiro – Paix (1972) France

Posted in Psychedelic/Space Rock with tags on November 9, 2009 by MarkProg


Studio Album, released in 1972

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Roc Alpin (3:02)
2. Jusqu’à Ce Que la Foce de T’Aimer Me Manque (2:56)
3. Paix (15:37)
4. Un Jour… la Mort (24:33)

Total Time 46:15

Line-up / Musicians

– P.Moullet / Cosmophone, acoustic guitar
– Jean Sebastian Lemoine / Percuphone, bass guitar
– Patrice Lemoine/ Organ
– Michel Santangelli / Drums (1)


Alpes & Catherine Ribeiro – Ame Debout (1971) France

Posted in Psychedelic/Space Rock with tags on November 9, 2009 by MarkProg

Led by Patrice Moullet, ALPES was founded in 1970 with Catherine Ribeiro as the lead singer. A very original band, highly prolific throughout the 70’s and still alive. Their music is rather experimental and hard to define and involves folk, progressive and improvisation. Patrice Moullet is the inventor of several musical instruments amongst which include the “Cosmophone” and the “Percuphone”. In a similar vocal style to Brigitte Fontaine, Catherine Ribeiro’s low voice tone may also evoke Nico at times and is theatrical and declamatory. There’s often an intense dramatic tension in the singing. The debut albums are the best, and “Paix”, with its two long suites, is considered the most progressive and is the best one to start with.

Studio Album, released in 1971

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Ame Debout (7:54)
2. Diborowska (3:39)
3. Alpes 1 (5:46)
4. Alpes 2 (6:22)
5. Alpilles (1:25)
6. Aria Populaire (2:09)
7. Le Kleenex, Le Drap De Lit Et L’étendard (3:28)
8. Dingue (4:36)

Total Time 35:19

Line-up / Musicians

– Patrice Moullet / cosmophone, acoustic guitar
– Claude Thiebaut / percuphone
– Patrice Lemoine / organ
– Catherine Ribeiro / vocals

Älgarnas Trädgård – Framtiden är ett svävande skepp, förankrat i forntiden (1972) Sweden

Posted in Psychedelic/Space Rock with tags on August 10, 2009 by MarkProg


ÄLGARNAS TRÄDGÅRD are a seminal, 6-piece Swedish combo who made one album in 1972, a cult classic and masterpiece of psychedelia that could have come straight out of the ‘Kraut’ school of Space Rock. After the release of their album, they kept on playing live for a while, even recording a full album’s worth of new material in 1973-74. But it wasn’t until 2001 that this material was mixed and released, on a cd entitled “Delayed”.

Their 1972 classic, “Framtiden ar ett Svavande Skepp, Forankrat I Forntiden”, is a veritable testimony to the halcyon days of hippiedom – a time when grown men, like children playing with forbidden colours, were popping hallucinogenic bonbons and experimenting with psychedelic sounds in their quest for mind-expanding adventures and altered states of consciousness. However, ÄLGARNAS TRÄDGÅRD’s music never lapses into drugged-out silliness or aimless noodling. It ranges from earnest, to Medieval, to completely creepy – a sort of ‘RIO meets folk’. They concoct some earthly (and unearthly) sounds using a combination of traditional, modern rock instruments and ethnic/archaic ones, the result being a spectacular blend of slow-smoking psychedelia with a strong vernacular Swedish folk bent. Their guitar-based, trance-like music is reminiscent of ASH RA TEMPEL; it also shares GONG’s organic mayhem and the hypnotic qualities of early TANGERINE DREAM. If you can imagine a Nordic version of AMON DÜÜL II or ASH RA TEMPEL, you’ll have a pretty good idea of what they sound like. The 2001 cd “Delayed”, which makes heavier use of drums and guitars, is yet another marvellously atmospheric and creative mixture of prog and psychedelia.

Highly recommended for Krautrock aficionados as well as for fans of CAN and PINK FLOYD, circa “Ummagumma”.

Psychedelic/Space Rock • Sweden

Studio Album, released in 1972

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Two Hours over two blue mountains with a cockoo on each side of the hours..that is (13:25)
2. There is a time for everything, there is a time when even time will meet (6:11)
3. Children of Possibilities (3:12)
4. La Rotta (1:40)
5. Viriditas (3:00)
6. Rings of Saturn (7:15)
7. The future is a hovering ship, anchored in the past (5:07)

Bonus tracks:

8. 5/4 (10:26)
9. The Mirrors of Gabriel (8:26)

Line-up / Musicians

– Andreas Brandt / violin, vocals, percussion, flute
– Mikael Johanson / bass, handdrum, zither, tablas, percussion
– Dennis Lindh / drums, tablas, percussion, zinks, jews harp
– Dan Soderqvist / guitars, percussion
– Jan Ternald / mellotron, piano, moog modualr, organ, electric piano
– Sebastion Oberg / cello, flute, sitar, tablas

Arzachel – S/T (1969)

Posted in Psychedelic/Space Rock with tags on June 28, 2009 by MarkProg



Comprised of what was then the band URIEL, this was the earliest formation of Steve HILLAGE and Dave STEWART. ARZACHEL had two things which helped transition it to be CD era: the music is a head above most other psych rarities, and the four musicians later achieved marginal success within the ’70s progressive rock “Canterbury scene”.

The record itself featured some of the most explosive psychedelia by an English group. The sound of sustained keyboard and guitar passages are full blown drawn-out psychedelia of the highest order, think EGG, GONG, NATIONAL HEALTH, CARAVAN etc. Collectors of rare psychedelia recognize ARZACHEL’s sole LP as being one of the most desired (and pricey) relics from the late ’60s.

Genre: Psychedelic/Space Rock
Origin: United Kingdom

Studio Album, released in 1969

Track Listings

1. Garden of Earthly Delights (2:40)
2. Azathoth (4:11)
3. Queen Street gang (4:20)
4. Leg (5:31)
5. Clean innocent fun (10:24)
6. Metempsychosis (16:19)

Total Time: 43:25


– Basil Dowling (Clive Brooks) / drums
– Njerogi Gategaka (Mont Campbell) / bass, vocals
– Sam Lee-Uff (Dave Stewart) / organ
– Simeon Sasparella (Steve Hillage) / guitar, vocals


Iraklis – I Stigmi (1984)

Posted in Psychedelic/Space Rock with tags on June 22, 2009 by MarkProg


Iraklis Triandafyllides began his career in the sixties, playing in a beat band called The Saints (who had one single out) before going on to join D.N.A. in the early seventies. In 1973 he formed a band of his own (Lernaia Hydra – named after a monster out of Greek mythology) with which he recorded. It’s not only one of the best but also one of the rarest Greek releases. The two records he released in the eighties are rarities as well. His work is mainly characterised by ethnic and psychedelic elements and dreamy atmospheres in a folk/psych style using many traditional Greek instruments. Nowadays, Iraklis owns several clubs and recording studios; he released two albums in the early eighties as well as a single-record reprint of “Se Allous Kosmous” in 1988.

Year : 1984

Country : Creece
Genre : Psychedelic


01 – H Stigmh (The Moment)
02 – Pseftoxoreftis (Fake Dancer-Pseudodancer)
03 – Ti Ftene (It’s Not Their Fault)
04 – O Kollimenos (Stuck)
05 – Varicheimonias (Heavy Winter)
06 – Athina (Oh Athens)
07 – Se Mia Platia (In A Square)
08 – Legame (We Were Saying)