Archive for the Heavy Prog Category

Jane – Together (1972) Germany

Posted in Heavy Prog with tags on November 11, 2009 by MarkProg


Considered to be one of the great German spacerock bands of the 70’s. JANE plays a Progressive rock navigating between a breathtaking guitar solos, powerful keyboards, polished and mighty arrangements and an almost constantly dragging tempo added up to the typical JANE’s touch and were characteristic for a melodic hard rock that had no equal in Germany. Their music sometimes is close to PINK FLOYD works or close to groups like ELOY.

Heavy Prog • Germany

Studio Album, released in 1972

Songs / Tracks Listing

Side 1
1. Daytime (8:05)
2. Wind (4:52)
3. Try to find (5:24)
Side 2
4. Spain (11:53)
5. Together (3:43)
6. Hangman (9:58)

Total Time: 43:55

Line-up / Musicians

– Klaus Hess / lead guitar
– Charly Maucher / bass, vocals (4)
– Werner Nadolny / organ, flute (5)
– Peter Panka / drums, percussion (4)
– Bernd Pulst / vocals


Contrarian – Minor Complexities (2007) U.S.A.

Posted in Heavy Prog with tags on October 2, 2009 by MarkProg


Guitarist, keyboardist, and bass player Timothy Boney had wanted to create original music for a long time. He had a long a list of musical influences, but when it came to prog, he was inspired by Dream Theater, Yes, Rush, ELP, Jethro Tull, Genesis, Styx, Triumph, and especially Kansas. Life as an attorney doesn’t leave a lot of free time, so it wasn’t until 2005 that his project began to take shape. The goal was to make music that bore those earlier influences, but still sounded original, and up to date. He also wanted the lyrics to express some higher intellectual concepts.
And here we are! Contrarian was born.

Genre: Heavy Prog
Origin: United States
Year : 2007

Studio Album, released in 2007

Track Listings

1. Operation Overlord (6:12)
2. Twilight of the Idols (4:45)
3. String of Fate (4:07)
4. Fear and Trembling (10:15)
5. Barricades (5:38)
6. Another Day (3:09)
7. Just Doing Time (3:19)
8. Plato’s Cave (5:37)
9. You’re My Prayer (2:38)
10. Stand or Fall (5:12)
11. Sanguine Bells (5:45)
12. The Final Hand (2:59)

Total Time 59:36


– Timothy G. Boney / guitars, keyboards, synthesizers, bass, percussion, vocals
– Joseph L. Leming / Lead and backing vocals, percussion
– Michael J. White / drums

Guest Musicians

-Lance Cockrell / violin
-Eric Jorgenson / cello

Tempest – Tempest (1973) U.K.

Posted in Heavy Prog with tags on August 15, 2009 by MarkProg


Formed by drummer Jon Hiseman in 1974 after the break up of COLOSSEUM, TEMPEST (no relation to the US band of the same name) are most notable for their line up rather than their albums. Hiseman brought in an at the time very young guitarist by the name of Allan Holdsworth, with Mark Clark (bass) and Paul Williams (vocals) completing the band. Clark had also been a member of COLOSSEUM. Paul Williams had played with JOHN MAYALL’S BLUESBREAKERS and JUICY LUCY.

TEMPEST released two albums with Peter “Ollie” Halsall (PATTO, SCAFFOLD) replacing Holdsworth for “Living in Fear”, and taking on keyboard duties for that album too. He replaced the departed Williams on vocals, resulting in a completely different sound for that album. Their music is more jazz rock than fusion, and Hiseman’s COLOSSEUM influences can be heard in the jazz influences in both albums. While “Living in Fear” was more direct and dynamic than the first self titled album, neither was particularly satisfactory.

Hiseman went on to form COLOSSEUM II, while Holdsworth found varying degrees of success both as a solo artists, and with bands such as GONG, SOFT MACHINE, UK and BRUFORD. The late Ollie Halsall (died 29 May 1992) recorded with BOXER and Kevin Ayers among others. Clarke worked with various bands including NATURAL GAS, URIAH HEEP, MOUNTAIN AND RAINBOW.

Heavy Prog • United Kingdom

Studio Album, released in 1973

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Gorgon (5:44)
2. Foyers Of Fun (3:41)
3. Dark House (5:02)
4. Brothers (3:37)
5. Up And On (4:19)
6. Grey And Black (2:29)
7. Strangeher (4:07)
8. Upon Tomorrow (6:41)

Total Time: 35:00

Line-up / Musicians

– Allan Holdsworth / guitars, violin, vocals
– Mark Clarke / bass, keyboards, vocals, all vocals on 6
– Paul Williams / vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards
– Jon Hiseman / drums, percussion

Abigail’s Ghost – D_Letion (2009)

Posted in Heavy Prog with tags on July 4, 2009 by MarkProg

Hailing from Louisiana (USA), ABIGAIL’S GHOST are a five-piece founded by two high school friends, Joshua Theriot (lead vocals, guitars) and Kenneth Wilson (bass guitar, backing vocals), who had already played together in local bands.

ABIGAIL’S GHOST debut album, “Selling Insincerity”, mainly based on the material written by Theriot and Wilson during their long-distance correspondence, was recorded in a week in New Orleans, and released in 2007 on the band’s own label, Aesperus Music. Their sound has been often compared to that of Krautrock bands, as well as modern prog giants Porcupine Tree.

Heavy Prog • United States

Studio Album, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. D_Letion (5:13)
2. Black Lace (4:16)
3. Romantique Life (4:34)
4. Plastik Soul (5:47)
5. Cinder Tin (5:39)
6. Gemini Man (4:18)
7. Sneak Peek (5:47)
8. Visceral (4:21)
9. Easy A (3:39)
10. Annie Enemy (7:20)
11. Grave Concerns (2:25)

Total Time 52:59

Line-up / Musicians

– Joshua Theriot / lead vocals, guitars
– Kenneth Wilson / bass, background vocals
– Brett Guillory / keyboards, background vocals
– John Patrick / drums, percussion
– Randy Paul / rhythm guitars

The Mars Volta – Octahedron (2009)

Posted in Heavy Prog with tags on June 27, 2009 by MarkProg


Octahedron is the upcoming fifth studio album by American progressive rock band The Mars Volta, set for release on June 23, 2009. The album is being released by Warner Bros. Records in North America and Mercury Records worldwide.

Omar Rodriguez-Lopez had discussed the band’s next album as early as January 2008, the month that The Bedlam in Goliath was released, claiming “I consider it to be our acoustic album.” Cedric Bixler-Zavala has also spoken of the album as “acoustic” and “mellow,” yet stated: “We know how people can be so linear in their way of thinking, so when they hear the new album, they’re going to say, ‘This is not an acoustic album! There’s electricity throughout it!’ But it’s our version. That’s what our band does — celebrate mutations. It’s our version of what we consider an acoustic album.”

Genre: Heavy Prog
Origin: United States

Track listing

1. “Since We’ve Been Wrong” 7:20
2. “Teflon” 5:04
3. “Halo of Nembutals” 5:30
4. “With Twilight as My Guide” 7:52
5. “Cotopaxi” 3:38
6. “Desperate Graves” 4:56
7. “Copernicus” 7:22
8. “Luciforms” 8:21

Line up musicians

* Omar Rodriguez-Lopez – guitar
* Cedric Bixler-Zavala – vocals
* Isaiah “Ikey” Owens – keyboards
* Juan Alderete – bass
* Thomas Pridgen – drums
* Marcel Rodriguez-Lopez – synthesizers, percussion
* John Frusciante – guitar