Djam Karet – Burning The Hard City (1991) U.S.A.


Being called the “greatest undiscovered band in the world” by Electronic Musician magazine certainly qualifies the four-piece group known as Djam Karet for more recognition. Their CD, Burning The Hard City, is their 1991 release and features dual guitars (Gayle Ellett, Mike Henderson), keyboards, bass (Henry J. Osborne) and drums (Chuck Oken, Jr.) on seven extended tracks (six of which clock in at over eight minutes). The music offers tons of guitar histrionics, feedback, improvisations and, of course, wailing guitar solos (sometimes four to a tune). Having been compared to King Crimson and Pink Floyd, Djam Karet nevertheless delivers a signature hard, progressive, and futuristic sounding collection on Burning The Hard City. It’s highly unlikely fans of instrumental prog would be disappointed by this Southern California band’s recorded output — unique and visionary.

Genre: Eclectic Prog
Origin: United States

Studio Album, released in 1991

Track Listings

1. At The Mountains Of Madness (9:17)
2. Province 19: The Visage Of War (8:13)
3. Feast Of Ashes (10:46)
4. Grooming The Psychosis (11:57)
5. Topanga Safari (5:57)
6. Ten Days To The Sand (11:07)
7. Burning The Hard City (12:07)

Total Time: 70:01


– Gayle Ellett / electric 7-string and 6-string guitars, taped effects, keyboards, percussion
– Mike Henderson / electric twelve and six string guitars, effects, keyboards
– Chuck Oken, Jr. / drums, electronic, percussion, keyboards, synthesizer programming and sequencing
– Henry Osborne / electric bass, bottled bass, keyboards, percussion


One Response to “Djam Karet – Burning The Hard City (1991) U.S.A.”

  1. hppp://

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: