Eulenspygel – 2 (1971) Germany


The ROYAL SERVANTS, forerunners of EULENSPYGEL, were formed in 1965 in Swabia/Germany. Starting up with beat music, they gradually turned to Blues Rock, finally Progressive Psychedelic and released one album named “We”. In early 1971, they were one of the first bands to write their songs in German. So they changed their name into EULENSPYGEL the same year and the first new release was named “2”, recorded at the Maschen studio near Hamburg. The front cover caused a scandal because of a burnt chicken and was later substituted. This album documents the awakening of the german rock music on the way to its own identity.

Musically they played on the same level as foreign bands including long instrumental parts, sometimes psychedelic coloured. Lyrics were full of social criticism.

Krautrock • Germany

Studio Album, released in 1971

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Till (3:45)
2. Son My (11:14)
3. Konsumgewäsche (4:03)
4. Staub Auf Deinem Haar (7:58)
5. Die Wunde Bleibt (1:58)
6. Das Lied Vom Ende (10:15)

Total Time: 39:13

Line-up / Musicians

– Matthias Thurow / guitars, violin
– Cornelius Hauptmann / flute
– Ronnie Libal / bass
– Detlev Nottrodt / guitars, vocals
– Günter Klinger / drums
– Rainer ‘Mulo’ Maulbetsch / vocals, harmonica
– Karl Heinz Grosshans / organ, vocals


3 Responses to “Eulenspygel – 2 (1971) Germany”

  1. hppp://

  2. Thank you, this is a very good album

  3. anonymous stone Says:

    thank you !

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: