Amon Duul II – Lemmingmania (1975) Germany


AMON DÜÜL II was born of an artistic and political community called AMON DÜÜL (which recorded during the late sixties a long live session made around collective and free musical improvisations). The band emerged from the underground German rock scene with a very original and eccentric album called “Phallus Dei” (1969). The musicians who participated to this delirious and psychedelic experience were (among others) Peter Leopold (ex AMON DÜÜL), the front woman and singer Renate Knaup, John Weinzierl on the guitars… with guests as Holger Trützsch who plays tribal percussions (original member of Popol Vuh). Then almost with the same musicians the band recorded the seminal “Yeti” (1970). An album in a similar vein than the previous but more accomplished (with a few structured songs and numerous pieces of epic improvisations). “Yeti” will launch AMON DÜÜL II career outside Germany. The same year the bass guitarist Dave Anderson leaves the band to join HAWKWIND.

“Tanz Der Lemminge” which follows directly “Yeti” is an impressive work with a great diversity of powerful, emotional songs with some folk accents next to long free space jamming. Recorded in 1972, “Carnival in Babylon” announces a slight new musical direction taken by the band. This album is dominated by shorter songs with the omnipresent and beautiful Renate Knaup’s vocals. A more conventional work with a few memorable prog-folk ballads. The classical period of the band will end with “Wolf City” (1972) and “Viva La Trance” (1973). After the departure of Renate Knaup who joins Popol Vuh in 1974 and the release of a few albums, AMON DÜÜL II split up. In 1981, with the album “Vortex” Chris Karrer tried without success to reform the band.

Amon Duul II – Lemmingmania

Krautrock • Germany

Boxset/Compilation, released in 1975

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Archangel’s thunderbird (3:30)
2. Light (3:48)
3. Between the eyes (2:24)
4. Green bubble raincoated man (5:04)
5. Tables are turned (3:34)
6. Rattlesnakeplumcake (3:16)
7. All the years round (4:07)
8. Jail-house frog (4:54)
9. Soap shop rock (3:41)
10. Lemmingmania (3:00)

Total Time: 37:18

Line-up / Musicians

– Dave Anderson / bass (1-9)
– D. Secundus Fichelscher / drums
– Karl-Heinz Hausmann / keyboards & electronics (5-7)
– Chris Karrer / acoustic & electric guitars, violin, Soprano sax, vocals
– Renate Knaup-Krötenschwanz / vocals
– Peter Leopold / drums, synthesizers (4)
– Lothar Meid / bass, vocals
– Falk U. Rogner / organ, synthesizers
– Shrat / bongos, vocals (1-9)
– John Weinzierl / acoustic & electric guitars, vocals

+ Jimmy Jackson / piano, choir organ (4-8)
– Olaf Kübler / backing vocals (8)
– Rolf Zacher / backing vocals (8)


One Response to “Amon Duul II – Lemmingmania (1975) Germany”

  1. MarkProg Says:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: