The Mars Volta – Octahedron (2009)


Octahedron is the upcoming fifth studio album by American progressive rock band The Mars Volta, set for release on June 23, 2009. The album is being released by Warner Bros. Records in North America and Mercury Records worldwide.

Omar Rodriguez-Lopez had discussed the band’s next album as early as January 2008, the month that The Bedlam in Goliath was released, claiming “I consider it to be our acoustic album.” Cedric Bixler-Zavala has also spoken of the album as “acoustic” and “mellow,” yet stated: “We know how people can be so linear in their way of thinking, so when they hear the new album, they’re going to say, ‘This is not an acoustic album! There’s electricity throughout it!’ But it’s our version. That’s what our band does — celebrate mutations. It’s our version of what we consider an acoustic album.”

Genre: Heavy Prog
Origin: United States

Track listing

1. “Since We’ve Been Wrong” 7:20
2. “Teflon” 5:04
3. “Halo of Nembutals” 5:30
4. “With Twilight as My Guide” 7:52
5. “Cotopaxi” 3:38
6. “Desperate Graves” 4:56
7. “Copernicus” 7:22
8. “Luciforms” 8:21

Line up musicians

* Omar Rodriguez-Lopez – guitar
* Cedric Bixler-Zavala – vocals
* Isaiah “Ikey” Owens – keyboards
* Juan Alderete – bass
* Thomas Pridgen – drums
* Marcel Rodriguez-Lopez – synthesizers, percussion
* John Frusciante – guitar


One Response to “The Mars Volta – Octahedron (2009)”

  1. MarkProg Says:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: